Is this processor compatible with this motherboard?

tjhamstar

Baseband Member
Hello all,

As you can probably tell by the title, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to computer hardware. I'm recently looking to have a gaming pc built for me, well my friend is going to help me provided I can purchase the parts needed. So I'm looking into processors and motherboards (not really knowing what is good or not). Hopefully, I can get some feedback here guiding me in the right direction if I'm not already headed that way. I appreciate any and all feedback, suggestions, etc. Thank you.

Processor:

AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8350FRHKBOX - Newegg.com

Motherboard:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B9BDB14/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_5?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Alternate choice for Motherboard (although I'd prefer to purchase the cheaper one if it will work out for me):

Amazon.com: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard: Computers & Accessories

Yes they are compatible, but if you have that kind of cash to spend I suggest going with the 3570k instead. Matter a fact, why don't you lay a budget down so we can get you a build going to make sure you get acceptable and quality parts for a gaming PC.

Well here's where I'm at right now. I'll just lay the parts down that I already have selected and I'm certainly open to suggestions and feedback in regards to these parts..

My budget is around $600...think I've kind of went over this by now

Case (already purchased):
Amazon.com: Cooler Master Elite 430 Mid Tower Computer Case with All-Black Interior RC-430-KWN1-AMZ: Computers & Accessories 49.99

Processor(originally purchased the 8320 but returned and intend to purchase 8350):
AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8350FRHKBOX - Newegg.com 199.99