Test boot not working

walkpdp

Solid State Member
Hello, this is my first time building a computer. I have the motherboard sitting on a cardboard box with the CPU, CPU fan, RAM, and power supply plugged in. Both the 24 pin and 4x4atx cables from the PSU are plugged into the motherboard. I have tried with and without ram. A VGA cable is plugged into the monitor from the motherboard ( no separate video card) And the small speaker with 4 pins in plugged in. I turn on the PSU and try to short the power pin by touching it with a screwdriver but nothing happens at all. I followed the newegg tutorial on building pc's online. The only thing i am skeptical of is the PSU did not come with a power cord, i purchased a separate one from best buy, it is a Dynex AC power cord replacement. I searched online and couldn't find anything to solve my problem, any ideas? Here is the hardware :
CPU:
Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

Motherboard:
Newegg.com - ASRock B75M-DGS LGA 1155 Intel B75 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Value 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C11D-16GNT

PSU:
Newegg.com - Antec NEO ECO 520C 520W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

HDD:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating Systems

Case:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GZ-F3HEB Black SECC Steel / ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

psu with no cord is fine. it's a way of pretending to be environmental which is really just saving money in no cord. that the ECO part of the branding.

did you try just a single stick of ram?