Maintenance Questions from a Newb

XGC Forsakend

Student & Lover of Games
So I have built my first PC with the help of a friend and this site, and I want to make sure I keep it clean and working properly for a long time. Thus, I have generally 2 questions I need to ask (I expect screams of blasphemy and threats of CPU abuse for one of the questions).

Anywho, Question 1:
I bought some air cans and want to blow and clean off any dust that may have settled. I do plan on opening/sliding one of the case sides off to help.
Is there anything in there that I should avoid blowing cool air directly by chance? Maybe "Not have it on for a few hrs before using" or something? Silly question considering it 'Air' but ehh...

Question 2:
Because I have never built a computer before and had little to no knowledge what so ever and relied on a buddy and his room mate for building assistance... there might have been a slight error while installing the CPU and the fan it came with.

While reading the installation instructions for the CPU, I came across a part where I was told to apply thermal paste. Unfortunately, I didn't know I needed some and did not place an order for some and the PC needed to be built that day due to my friend being out of town for 2 1/2 weeks after that night.

Asking him how mandatory or important it was, I was told it would be ok and to continue.

Thinking about it now, kinda bothers me knowing I skipped a step and want to correct it. Want to possibly fix it while dusting out my computer and such since I'll have the case open then.

Here is the question How do I remove the CPU fan exactly? I have a fear of damaging the motherboard because of the plastic arrowhead like hooks it uses to attach its self.

cpu-fan.jpg

Looks something more or less like that, with the turn nobs and then the hooks on the bottom. Do I pinch them and then pull it up slowly and just hope not to damage it?