Firs time building Backtrack Lab

GLaDOS

In Runtime
Hello everyone,

With the holidays coming around, I was thinking of building a very small BackTrack pen testing lab. I am trying to learn the fundamentals of computer security so I'm new to the pen-test lab set up. I have very limited space and was thinking of using 2 laptops (one as the attacker and one as the victim) to simulate attacks and watch them unfold in real time in order to get an understanding of how such attacks work. I was also gonna get myself a beginners guide to learning about BackTrack.

Since this is my first time building such a lab, I wanted to consult with the members here to see if they had any experience, advice, or tips. I was thinking of using 2 cheap/used laptops (maybe the Dell D620 Laptop Duo Core). Again, space is very limited (I'm essentially working out of 1 bedroom with limited table space), so maybe virtualization is the way to go? I don't know, I'm really open to any and all suggestions. Thanks everyone and Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating!!

As long as their wifi cards support packet injection and can be put into Monitor Mode, they should be fine. Do some research on what wifi chipset they have to see if you'll need special drivers or if the cards are compatible or not.

Most computers I've used so far have compatible chipsets (there's a few that aren't though), and have worked flawlessly.

After doing some research, I can say that those Dells will probably work. I found many threads on other forums regarding users successfully Packet Injecting on those builds.

After doing some research, I can say that those Dells will probably work. I found many threads on other forums regarding users successfully Packet Injecting on those builds.

Thanks M4TT I really appreciate you taking the time to look into that. Would I need to get my own router/wireless network set up in order to pen-test. Is it safe to have a pen-test lab like this on a production network?