Help!!I'm a first-time laptop user.

cyberrich

Solid State Member
After being a desktop user for 10 years I finally bought a laptop today. It's the samsung notebook series 3. I haven't even switched it on yet, as I want to make sure I'm doing everything safely!:confused:The instructions in the box are brief and a complete novice like me isn't too sure of a few points. How do I charge the laptop? Do I do this before turning the laptop on? How long do I have to charge for?
It does say connect the AC adaptor before pressing the power on, but it does't say how long for. When and how often do I have to use the AC adaptor.
If there's anything vital I need to know and haven't mentioned, I'd love to hear.
Many thanks, Richard.:)

Just plug the AC adapter into the wall and then into the AC jack on the laptop. Should be on one of the sides or the rear of the laptop.

Charge it when you want to or whenever the battery is getting low. You can't overcharge a laptop battery because they're Lithium-Ion batteries with circuits built in to stop from overcharging. The only things that will killthe battery are age, and heat. Heat is the biggest issue, because laptops tend to run a little hotter than desktops due to less airflow among the components.
Check this thread for more info: http://www.techist.com/forums/f64/useful-lithium-battery-information-248289/

It's geared towards phones, but also applies to laptop batteries somewhat.

You can plug in the laptop and turn it on and begin using it immediately. Don't have to wait for it to fully charge or anything.

Don't worry! The laptop battery is ten times stronger than the normal cell phone battery. You can easily turn on your computer and use it! It will charge to full capacity. Funny my sister just purchased the same laptop. Good thing you read the instructions though, most people throw those out and go straight to using it!