amd or pentium

Status
Not open for further replies.

rama

Baseband Member
:D hi everyone :p
me a newbie here.
i need to make a decision . well i want to build a low end gaming computer. i want to make it as low budget as possible but at the same time allow me to play the latest games like farcry,doom3,hl2 and those to come.
well to start off i would like to know which processor should i go for athlon or pentium. and also i would like to know the affinities that exist between the processor and graphics card. ie which cpu/gpu would be more suitable. like athlon/ati or pentium/nvidia or whatever.

thanks in advance for help

athlon or pentium.
Athlon is a brand of chip, AMD is the maker. If you want a budget system for gaming then I suggest getting something like the 35w 2400+ XP-M if you're intereseted in overclocking and a good suitable OC'ing board like the ABit NF7-S v2 it's a very popular combo, either that CPU or the 2600+ XP-M which are mobile chips, but they are Socket A and will fit in a desktop socket A mother board, They have great overclockability and it's easy to get them to 3200+ XP speeds and past or at the very least give you a 400FSB.

As far as what card goes with what processor, well it really doesn't matter, the cards made to go with either system so you can't really say nvidia goes with amd and ati goes with intel or anything like that. Personally I like nvidia and right now think they are on top of their game with the eVGA brand 6800GT 256mb, you can OC that up to and past 6800Ultra speeds.

For the most part people generally agree, AMD = Gaming, Intel = applications because AMD performs more cycles per clock than Intel due to short stocky pipelines whereas Intels are huge in comparison.

But on the other hand. if your talking about Doom3 And Half Life 2. take your pick. the harsh truth is that Doom 3 was designed for Nvidia GFX Cards and Half Life 2 Was designed for ATi GFX Cards.