Looking for a lightweight graphics laptop

iguanaonastick

Baseband Member
Hello folks!

Im an illustration student who prefers working digitally. As such, im looking for a laptop i could bring with me to the uni and back, to use for drawing while in class.

What i want:

1) NOT A MAC. I dont care if they are faster, better, same, cheaper, whatever. I am not getting a mac, period. Sorry, mac lovers.

2) Lightweight. I will be bringing it with me every day for next ~3 years or so, so i want it to weigh less than a large brick :p Preferably around 1.5-2kg

3) Performance - the laptop will be used 99.9% for digital drawing. Im talking 2d Photoshop and Paint Tool Sai sketching, painting and editing. No games whatsoever are planned, and very mild internet browsing. However i would prefer my PS / PTS running properly and relatively smoothly, without delays or other "slow" things. There will be no 3d, just 2d art.

I already have a powerful desktop, so i do not need any "additional" functions - this laptop will be used only for drawing in class.
My price range is under ~£1200 or so.

There are 2 reasons im asking about it in this thread.
1) Im terrible when it comes to laptop hardware. I have no idea what's available / how much it costs / how it performs / etc.

2) I have no idea what specs i need for digital art. I mean, i always used my main "powerful gaming" pc for it, meaning i always had more than enough CPU / GPU / RAM / etc for it. However when it comes down to what specifically (and how much of it) i need for my laptop, im kinda clueless.

After browsing around the web etc, the one laptop that attracted my attention was Lenovo T430 - like this configuration here:

Intel i7-3520M (4m cache)
Win 7 64 pro
14.0 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backjlit Anti-Glare Display
Nvidia Optimus Graphics (NVS 5400M, 2GB)
8GB RAM (DDR3 1600 MHz 2 DIMM)
128gb SSD, SATA3
extra 500GB HDD 7200RPM
9Cell Li-Ion 70++
~2kg weight

Total cost is... £1265 not including VAT.