Building my first gaming rig.

Griime

Beta member
Hi :)

I am looking to build my first gaming PC, I'm no expert on computers so would love some hints and tips from anyone willing to share their knowledge. My budget is around £500-650 but would like to stay as close to £500 as possible. I will also be using my own HDD + CD drives for now. After speaking with my brother who has built a couple of rigs before and browsing the web, I have gathered up a rough idea of some components which to a newbie like myself seem to be fairly decent:

Mobo - Asus P8Z77-V LX Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel.. | Ebuyer.com

Memory - Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz Vengeance Memory Kit.. | Ebuyer.com

CPU - Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache.. | Ebuyer.com

PSU - Corsair TX 650W V2 PSU - 80plus Bronze Certified | Ebuyer.com

GPU - Asus GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini.. | Ebuyer.com

SSD - OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 SSD 2.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s Read.. | Ebuyer.com

Case - Coolermaster Elite 334U Case | Ebuyer.com

I will also be buying as many parts as I can 2nd hand/Refurbished from Ebay, is there any parts you would suggest not buying 2nd hand due to reliability or other reasons?

Thanks in advance.

That processor surprised me for its value. I haven't even managed to buy a graphics card yet, but with the same 8GB of RAM running on my build, i can still run several games on medium settings, with the most resource heavy being Total War: Shogun 2, which i think i have on medium. Best choice i made for my computer!

Those parts look good and it's a better idea to pay more and buy them from a reliable source. Buying even one thing from ebay or some place has a pretty high failure or ripoff chance. Buying a lot of expensive things from somewhere like that is an even worse idea.