I Want to Learn!

Binary Ranger

Banned
Hey guys! I want to learn how to overclock! Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this?

*cricket noise*

...Um, maybe my question must be in the form of an answer? Let's see...

"A website with good tutorials for complete newbies trying to increase their PC performance. Also a website that deals primarily with Windows based OS.

If that's too confusing, can anyone give me a good website for beginning overclocking? Preferably one with warning signs. If my computer has something to do with it, I am currently using an acer with an AMD Athlon II X2 P340.

If that's too much suck to even bother overclocking, at least give me the benefit of the doubt, I plan on getting a better computer soon. (As soon as my FEMA check arrives!... Bad joke I know.)

Not so much the CPU but the board we need to know about. If you don't know it then give a model and the power that be Google will tell me.

4 things you need to take into careful consideration before OCing is done.
1: Can my CPU be overclocked? Do I have an unlocked multiplier?
Some Intel CPUs cannot be overclocked the tried and true FSB (BCLK) way due to limitations with everything being tied together, in short and sweet. An unlocked multiplier is needed for these CPUs which are marked with a K on the end. AMD equivalent would be Black Edition, or K as well for the APUs.

2: Does my motherboard allow adjustment of FSB(BCLK) and voltage control?
You need to be able to raise your multiplier or FSB to increase your core clock speed. Without this, you don't OC. Some AMD systems can use Overdrive to raise these settings but a bios set OC is always best. In order to maintain stability at higher clocks it requires more voltage. Without extra voltage at higher clocks your CPU will crash.