First Build

Manafel

Solid State Member
Hello,
I have always loved computers, but this time I am actually putting together my own for the first time. I didn't really have a budget in mind because I am going to buy all of the parts separate, but with everything I picked, it comes out to be about $950. This is my first build, so I would appreciate it if anyone could give me some pointers. I will be using this as my gaming/work computer. Thanks! :cool:

NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT White Steel/ plastic ATX Full tower Computer case

ASUS P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i5-3550 Ivy Bridge 3.3 GHz LGA 1155 77W Quad Core Processor

HIS iCooler Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition 1 GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Videocard

Diablotek UL Series PSUL775 775W ATX 12V v2.32 SLI Ready Crossfire ready power supply

2 Seagate Barracuda green 1.5TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA HDD

G.Skill Area Series 16GB(2 x 8GB 240-pin DDR3 SDRAM) x2

What games and what kind of work? The basic parts seem to be ok but I would change a few things based on your reply to my question.

3 things I would change immediately. The PSU has to be changed. You want quality over wattage. Get a Corsair TX or HX PSU. 650w would be plenty.
Second, if you are building a new computer with that sort of budget then grab an SSD. The 5900RPM drives have decent speed (I use 3 in my server) but I would not use them as regular use drives. They simply aren't fast enough.

The next is, unless you are doing CADing, heavy Photoshop, 3D work, or VMs then 16GB isn't needed, especially not needed for games. You also have "x2" there, so if you mean 32GB total, then that for sure isn't needed.

I will mostly be using it for Online MMOs like guild wars, and Final Fantasy XIV when it comes out(hopefully) next year. I have been absent from the PC gaming for a while, so that's about all that I know of for now. Will the Corsair TX650M PSU Work alright?