HDD Startup Issues

JulietBravo

Solid State Member
Hi everyone, new to the forums. Came here to see if anyone can figure this out. I am just an amateur builder.

I am having some HDD start-up issues with my home built computer. I am currently using a WDC WD1600AAJS-00L7A0 HDD with a SATA connection on a Gigabyte EP45-UD3R MOBO. When I first hooked everything up (back in 2008), I had an old IDE HDD from my old desktop computer I was using as extra storage and I have Windows 7 64-bit installed on the WD. I've heard hooking up an IDE and SATA drive was no problem. However, I was experiencing start-up issues where my computer would only detect the IDE at start-up. Obviously, Windows would not start since it's on the WD. When I went into the BIOS to see if something got messed up, the BIOS didn't even detect the WD (SATA) drive at all. I would have to shut everything down, unplug the SATA cable from the MOBO and plug it back into another SATA port. I have 6 different ports. After plugging it into another port, it would start-up no problems.

Thinking that the IDE drive was the problem, I disconnected that, and now only the SATA drive is connected to the MOBO. Currently, I am having the same problem where my MOBO, or BIOS, will not detect my SATA HDD unless I physically unplug the cable and move it to a different SATA port on the MOBO. At start-up, the BIOS runs through everything, then it asks me to boot from CD/DVD. It seems to only have this problem most of the time if I haven't used the computer for an extended period. I've had this problem for a long time now and have managed to get through it, but have now just decided to seek some technical expertise.

Anyone have any ideas?

Let me know what other information you need as well to help me solve this problem.

Thanks everyone!

I would try a different SATA cable to start out with.

Could also try updating the BIOS (if there's a newer version available that is).

I have all new SATA cables and the BIOS is up to date.