Which should be my upgrade priority for CPU+GPU or MOBO?

akasixcon

This is sparta!
Hello!

I am a photographer and a film producer and would like to know what my priorities should be when upgrading my computer.

I recently upgraded my computer by purchasing a 512gb Vertex 4 HDD. Applications and transfers from the SD card and saving photos are a snap!

I specifically have to wait about 33+ minutes to encode/render a 2 minute 1080p film. Also render previews aren't the best. A better CPU+GPU would be really helpful! In about 2 months, my budget is going to be is about $1000 and could go up to $1500 if needed be.

I looked online and noticed that the Core i7 990x is about $1000 and was about to make a purchase until I did more research. There's a newer Core i7 3960x for the same price and is "~45% faster than the 990x." I don't know if that's an exaggeration of if the site is credible but it made me think twice.

Right now here are the specs of my computer

Monitor(s):
27" S-IPS Catleap 2560 x 1440
23" Dell SP 2309W 2048x1152

Desktop:

CPU
Core i7 - 920 @ 2.66ghz

GPU (non-crossfire)
Radeon HD 4850 512mb
- Catleap (DVI-D) and Dell (VGA) Attached

Radeon HD 4850 512mb
- HDMI cable for HDTV attached

MOBO
x58 Gigabyte

RAM
18gb ( 3 x 4gb and 3 x 2gb )

HDD
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB (Main with Windows 7 x 64 pro installed)
Cavier Black 2TB
Western Digital 750GB

Power Supply 750w

Applications
Lightroom 4
Premiere Pro CS6Photoshop CS6
After Effects CS6
Sketchbook Pro

Which is the best route of upgrade? I'm looking more in the longer-run high end upgrades rather than a "bang for buck" present fix. I'm willing to pay a premium but if I were to upgrade within the next few months, which should it be?

1) Upgrade MOBO + CPU? (take out the x58 mobo and get a Core i7 3960x)
2) Upgrade just CPU? (get a core i7 990x)

Also with the Core i7, what are the requirements for fans/cooling systems to maximize it's effectiveness?