Upgrading my PC

myles

Solid State Member
Hi all,

I am looking to upgrade my PC for both gaming and video editing use. I'm looking to play games such as Red Orchestra 2, Guild Wars 2, Skyrim, amongst others at a reasonable frame rate and graphics setting. I am also a cameraman by trade and am looking to upgrade my system to assist with freelance editing via Adobe Premier CS3 for the time-being.

My current PC specs are below:

Operating System: Windows XP Professional Edition SP3
System Model: Amilo Desktop PI3410A
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7300 @ 2.66Ghz (2 CPUs)
RAM: 3GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS @ 1440x900 32Bit 75Hz

Now I'm not particularly tech-savvy, but from doing some research on external websites I believe my primary upgrades would be to my graphics card and my processor? I'm honestly not entirely sure as to how expensive it would be to get a new processor, do I need to get a new motherboard or...?

As for graphics cards, I've been looking at the Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 PCIE. Would this be a viable upgrade to be future-proof for a couple of years? I'm looking to spend around £100-£150 max on a graphics card, so any suggestions are welcomed.

Any help appreciated.

6870 would be a great upgrade in the graphics department, but your CPU/Mobo/RAM are very aged. To really take advantage of that GPU it would require to upgrade those and go with Windows 7.

Thanks for the quick response. I'm looking to upgrade my PC over the next few months (as money trickles in). How would you say I should prioritise this process? Graphics Card > CPU/Motherboard > Windows 7 > RAM?

I must be honest... I'm not particularly tech-savvy, preferring the casual stance towards computers, would you have any recommendations on purchasing a new motherboard? Would it be the norm to buy a motherboard with a CPU, or are these seperate entities?