Looking to build a $700 Gaming Computer (without video card)

RutigerPupkin

Solid State Member
This is my first attempt at a custom build. I'm going to use this primarily for gaming, with some light video editing on the side (Adobe Premiere or Corel Video Studio). Mostly I play strategy and some RPG games, with the most demanding games probably being Skyrim and the Total War series (can't wait for Rome II!). I don't want to spend more that $700-800 Canadian, and I'm reusing all the standard stuff from my old computer (monitor, keyboard, mouse etc) and also my 9800GT for a few months at least. I have no plans to overclock.

After doing a bit of research onbuilding a modest gaming rig I've put together a part list at http://pcpartpicker.com/ca/p/bkOx:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor ($124.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Motherboard: ASRock P67 Extreme 4 (B3) ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($119.88 @ Canada Computers)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($46.00 @ Newegg Canada)
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($79.88 @ Canada Computers)
Hard Drive: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($119.99 @ NCIX)
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case ($59.98 @ NCIX)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 520W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($61.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Optical Drive: Sony AD-7260S-0B DVD/CD Writer ($19.88 @ Canada Computers)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($105.92 @ TigerDirect Canada)
Total: $738.51
(Prices include shipping and discounts when available.)

I'm not really attached to any of this specific components, this is just a starting point for me. I'm pretty new to all this so any suggestions would be appreciated!

it seems fine, though you may want to consider a quad core cpu. on your budget, that would mean going with amd.

im quite sure the newer total war games do take advantage of all 4 cores.