Bad Win ME to worse WinXP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanielLee

Beta member
Hi,
I have a customer who has a Compaq 7151wma which is running a problem plagued version of Windows ME.

My customer has the “Windows XP version 2000 Upgrade” and I am thinking of either upgrading or repartitioning the hard drive, formatting and doing a new install.

I am relatively new at computers although I have upgraded a few computers to Windows 98SE and am somewhat familiar with partitioning and formatting.

I am currently doing computer repair for a living in a small town in Mexico. This customer is very well connected socially and my reputation is riding on this project going smoothly.

First when the box says “upgrade” I assume it means I can do a fresh install on a clean hard drive not just run over the existing OS, is this correct?

Second I know this was one of the first versions of XP to come out, is it worth using? Are there better versions out now that make it wiser to buy the new version rather than go through XX MB of upgrades?

Is there any proprietary software on the Compaq 7151 wma that will prevent me from having a successful install if I were to format the hard drive?

I have used the Windows XP upgrade advisor and it reports this.......

HARDWARE THAT IS INCOMPATIBLE OR MAY NEED ADDITIONAL FILES-

Hard disk controllers - USB Optical storage Device (not currently present)
USB to ATAPI Adapter (not currently present)

Network Adapters - Wan Miniport (ATW)

WDM Modem Enumerator - Intel 537 Data Fax V.90 Modem

SOFTWARE THAT DOES NOT SUPPORT WINDOWS XP

Digital Dashboard (in Control Panel) (I donÂ’t even know what this is or what it is for.)

Intel 537 Data Fax V.90 Mode (in control Panel) (On the box the modem came in it says XP compatible)

Virus Scan (in control Panel)

SOFTWARE THAT MUST BE REINSTALLED -

McAfee VirusScan for Win9x. (Do I have to re-down load this program or can I burn it to a CD and reinstall it from there?)