GPU Upgrade Help!

Thebrave85

Beta member
Hello everyone, first off I'm new to these threads, and I wanted to greet everyone! But anyway, I currently have a Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 Ghz w/ H80 Corsair Liquid Cooling, 8GB DDR3 1600mhz ram, XFX HD 6870 Black Edition, Gigabyte Z68x UD3H-B3 Motherboard, Corsair TX 750W v2 80 plus bronze certified PSU, 3 case fans, 1 side, 1 top, 1 front (also 2 back on H80 in/out). I also have a newer 24'' LED ASUS Monitor at 1920x1080p. I am looking to upgrade my GPU to something that will killlll games at full 1080p, the 6870 was used on my last setup which wasn't even full 1080p. My budget is as high as $600 right now for a new GPU. I am also open to CFX/SLi combinations, whichever will give me the best performance/cost ratio.

Thanks guys!

Yeah but that's expensive, I can get a CFX or SLi setup that performs better for cheaper than that. Also the GTX 660 cards are supposedly coming out soon, couple of weeks I think. If I get two of those in SLi, they would definitely outperform a single GTX 680 for probably $500 for two of them.

Then go for that if you want.

I suggest the GTX 680 since it will max any game at 1920x1080 with lower power consumption and heat than any comparable sli/xfire setup.
And in 6/12/18 months when you want even more power you can just add a second one instead of having to replace two cards.

Yeah, I mean like there's other solutions like GTX 480 SLi, GTX 560 Ti 448 Core SLi, HD 7970 3GB, etc. What would be a good combo for SLi/CFX at this point in time, newer technology-wise that would run me around $600. Also that would run well on my Corsair TX 750w v2 80 plus bronze certified. Let me know!

Yeah, I mean like there's other solutions like GTX 480 SLi, GTX 560 Ti 448 Core SLi, HD 7970 3GB, etc. What would be a good combo for SLi/CFX at this point in time, newer technology-wise that would run me around $600. Also that would run well on my Corsair TX 750w v2 80 plus bronze certified. Let me know!