First PC, Budget Gaming rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

CorrodedTemplar

Beta member
Hi all, i'm new here. I'm also new to desktops, having been a laptop user for over a decade i'm fed up of overheating issues, lack of graphical power and inability to easily mod/upgrade.

So after a recent small income i've decided to put together a small gaming rig, nothing too flash, to treat myself with. A rig that I can upgrade in the future when I have more funds flying around.

Currently i'm trying to stick to a budget of £360 (low, I know), but with my current setup I think its decently upgradeable in the future. If i'm right the motherboard will accept and I5 later in life, and I can easily double up the RAM to 8gb.
First upgrade will probably be the PSU to a Modular one, but this one should do the job nicely for now.

So here's what i've put together so far;

CPU: Intel Pentium G840 2.8GHz Dual-Core Processor £44.83
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61MA-D3V Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard £38.61
Memory: Mushkin Silverline 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1333 Memory £19.16
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive £44:16
Graphics Card: Arianet Radeon HD 6850 1GB Video Card £79.99
Optical Drive: LG GH24NS70 OEM DVD/CD Writer £12.00
Case: Arianet Hydra Midi Tower £22.49
PSU: 650W CiT Black Edition Series Power Supply £22.49
Extra Cooling: 2x EZcool silent 120mm Blue LED fans (14.9dba) £9

= £291.73 + £7.89 postage and packaging. + VAT (20%) = TOTAL £359.55

I already have a 22" Packard Bell monitor, a wireless keyboard and mouse and an untouched Windows 7 Home Premium disk so that cuts my price down drastically.

I chose the Pentium G840 as in gaming tests it has performed really well, almost being on par with the 3.0ghz I3 processor, and the Radeon 6850 is a very powerful little card for its price.

bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC9oeWRyYV81MDAuanBn.jpg
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC9oeWRyYV81MDBfMy5qcGc=.jpg