Need some help replacing and finding the correct ram for a sony vaio!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

brooksey84

Solid State Member
Want to upgrade my ram on my sony vaio vgn fw11m running OS 64 Currently have 2X 2GB ram in my laptop and want to upgrade to either 1x4GB and a 1x2GB or 2x4GB depending on cost! So could you point me in the right direction to finding a cheap answer to my problem. I am a UK resident also. Thanks for your help it will is greatly appreciated!

Brooksey84

Always happy to help out someone from the motherland! o/

You'll need to tell me what kind of RAM you have though, im assuming PC2 something, as that model has a dual core processor.

but most of that model have at least 4gb from stock, so .... i wont take any chances.
you'll need to either open it up and check whats in there (it may be printed on the side of the SODIMM stick) or use a program like SIW or system information for windows, which will determine it for you. or google some other program that will tell you, your memory type.

it'll probably be pc2-6400 though, seems sony pumped that out in those models, but i can only go by what google tells me. And with sonys "build your own" system, the stuff inside could be completely different.

ebuyer.com do a good trade in the old RAM, dont go to the highstreet. PC world will rip you off

Always happy to help out someone from the motherland! o/

You'll need to tell me what kind of RAM you have though, im assuming PC2 something, as that model has a dual core processor.

but most of that model have at least 4gb from stock, so .... i wont take any chances.
you'll need to either open it up and check whats in there (it may be printed on the side of the SODIMM stick) or use a program like SIW or system information for windows, which will determine it for you. or google some other program that will tell you, your memory type.