800 Dollar Build, Quick reviews please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MalnourishedPenguin

Solid State Member
Hey guys, first time poster...went through some of the threads and it seems like you all give some educated advice. I hope you guys wouldn't mind doing the same for me as this is my first build (like so many others) and I'm pretty hesitant about pulling the trigger on these components. I've done a decent amount of research already so I'm mainly just sending this out there to see if there's anything I may have missed. I already have a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and OS. Let me know what you guys think!

secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=16476391

(Build actually comes out to $795 including shipping after discounts and rebates)

EDIT: New build. Comes out to $760 after rebate. Updated PSU, RAM, and mobo from above.
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=13964609

2nd EDIT: Even newer build. Price = $795 after rebate. Updated PSU and GPU from the first edit.
secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=18782072

I actually have a 10 dollar discount on the RAM that I selected...so it's actually cheaper than the kit you posted. Do you still think it's worth it?

The drive you posted doesn't have as many proportionally positive reviews as the drive that I initially picked...I'm willing to spend the extra 4 dollars for a more reliable and proven drive.

As far as the motherboard goes...this is where I feel the most unsure. I did some research, but it is difficult to find a reliable board in this price range. I am willing to go a little bit over my budget if I know the board won't flake out on me, but certainly not $100 more :/

Also, with rebates and discounts the current build comes out to $795 with shipping (I'll put this in my original post).

after a little more research, I was thinking this mobo may be a better choice. Thoughts?