Dead HDD, ancient PC, possibility of RAID?

Status
Not open for further replies.

xK1LLSW1TCHx127

Baseband Member
Hello everyone, this is my first post, I hope I'm not screwing up big time already =)
So I have a (2001 approximate) HP Pavillion 515n which was given to me a few years ago to mess around with. I got into the whole android business and bam, my HDD died. Now, I have a server I got at a garage sale, HP ex470 I believe, with 4 500GB SATA drives. Now, my ancient PC does not support SATA, but I hear I can buy an adapter/ controller for that for around 30 bucks online and set up a RAID on my PC, is this true? If yes, any recommendations for the RAID controller, or tips/help setting up RAID so i can have my old android PC back? Thanks for your help/time, I'm a newbie at this, or a techie virgin according to the site=), so correct me if I'm wrong =) Hope to hear from someone soon, thanks again!:grin:

Welcome to TF!

I don't know if older systems can use the SATA controller. If that is running XP, it doesn't support SATA devices well.

I would just look on eBay and get a new drive for cheap.

Thanks for your response! Yeah, it's actually a 2004 HP Pavillion 515n. I've done research and i found this Installing or Replacing a Hard Drive HP Pavilion 515n Desktop PC (US/CAN) - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

It teaches how to install a drive and such, what caught my eye is at the bottom of the page it says it can handle RAID, the problem is that since i would be installing brand new drives i would not have the software required. Is this software something i could download or buy? If not, it would be possible for me to replace the IDE HDD with a SATA HDD with a few wire changes, correct? The reason i don't just want to buy a new drive is I have 4 brand new Seagate 500GB SATA drives sitting around, and if possible i would like to use them, or one =) Thanks a lot for the help i really appreciate it

Welcome to TF!