New to pc building

Status
Not open for further replies.

xetter

Solid State Member
Hey,
I have just joined this forum as it seems very friendly and helpful.

Anyway im aiming to make myself my own computer in the cheapest way possible to help me understand how a pc works and how to take it apart and put it back together again. However im hit with a problem as im not experienced in computer parts. in fact I have the faintest idea what the motherboard is for and why there is no such thing as a fartherboard.

So today im asking for your help to guide my along the way from understanding what the parts do to how i get hold of them to knowing if they are all compatible to the first boot.

I hope you will be able to guide my journey so i can accomplish my goal at the end.

Thanks Xetter

What is your budget? I know you said as cheap as possible, but how high would you go? You'd need to get an OS (Windows 7).

im not sure what sort of budgets building a pc can reach, what do you think a simple pc would cost to build, I already have a win7 op so there`s no need for that!

Try and give me a couple of figures so i have an idea please :)

Thanks for replying so quickly

Xetter

Thanks again for the quick reply but at the moment your talking jiberish.

how do you know that it all compatible and what are psu`s hdd`s and gfx`s

as i said before im not atall experienced with computer parts or the language so i would like a step by step talk about what i will need rather than a list of parts, sorry

Xetter

I have been building systems since 2005, so I know this stuff.

The board is socket 1155, so the CPU has to be socket 1155. Which it is.

The PSU, HDD, and GFX does not matter to your specific model, as long as you get the right connections. PSU - 24-pin power cord, 8-pin CPU power, PCI-E power, The correct connectors, etc.

The RAM, as said in the board specifications, needs to be DDR3. So I picked out some nice ones for cheap.