In the Process of overclocking, would like some feedback!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buddha0311

Solid State Member
Im overclocking my computer now or attempting and learning. This is my first time doing so, so cut me some slack. Any Feed back would be helpful!

Rig=
Processor- Lynnfield i7 860 2.8 GHz-stock
Cooler-Cool Master Hyper N520
G-card=Gtx 570 HD SC
MO-Asus p7p55d-e Deluxe
Ram-8gigs of XMS3 DDR3
Power supply-Coom Master GX 750W

185X20

Im at 3.7 GHz at the moment, 3.8 Is my Goal, but im taking it step by step.
Bclk is at 185
Ratio=20
Pcie Frequency 100
Dram Frequesncy 1480 MHz
Qpi Frequency 5926 MHZ

The Current Vcore its saying is 1.240V
i just adjusted it to 1.2375

IMC=1.262V
CpuPLL 1.803V
PCLT=1.056V
Dram- 1.750
Running at 1.565V

Any thots would be awesome! thank you!

When i run Prime95- The highest it gets to is 89C.
Intel Stress Test gets to about 88-89C
At idle i sit at about 38-40C

@ Buddha0311, please don't double post, if you have something else to add to the conversation and no one has posted a reply since your last post (within a 24 hr. period), please use the edit button (looks like a pencil) to add it to your previous post.

Your load temps are way to high, you need to lower them by 10-15C

i apologize, I knew going into this would get a little stressful. Would i lower my Voltage to accomplish this?

Your VCore is at 1.2375v? That's fine, my 1st guess would be that you used to much thermal paste. What paste are you using? Please don't tell me your using Arctic Silver 5. You should post some screenshots of CPU-Z (the CPU, Mainboard, Memory and SPD Tabs) as well as a HWMonitor screenshot. Here are some links.

CPU-Z ver.1.59
HWMonitor ver.1.18

The paste im using is the once that came with my Cooler, Just says Cool Master.
Mainboard.jpg

Memory.jpg

SPD1.jpg

SPD2.jpg

Specs.jpg

Bolts.jpg