Advice, What Would Be The Most Flexible CPU For Cooling?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Codeine

Fully Optimized
When it comes to complete custom computer configuration/ cooling projects, im a newbie. I understand the fundamental's, leaving me very clueless to very important things.

If you notice on the bottom of my post thats the computer im in the middle of creating. I already have half the hardware. So soon after thats finished im gonna built a very simple computer. With that computer im going to start my first Cooling Project.

So thats what im up to, and im wondering whats a very flexible CPU that would be good for me to get? Also not expensive since the computer im working on is literally taking all my money.

Im doing this all alone, just myself, so its hard not to have someone you can call over to help you out. So any imformation would help alot. Thanks for your time.

The most flexible CPU?? Ok well........if you're getting an AMD64 chip they are all going to run a lot hotter than say an XP chip, so right now most of the AMD64 chips are about equal as they haven't been out long enough and on top of that, not enough people have tried Overclocking them and all that good stuff.....so as far as you wanting the most 'flexible cpu for cooling', well if you're going AMD64 then it really doesn't matter. All of them will run way hotter than an most XP chips and it's all a matter of how well you have your cooling setup done.

If you're working on a cooling project, then that's what you need to focus on, and just get whatever CPU you want cause like I said most of the 64's are about the same temperature...atleast generally in the cases I've seen with users having them anyway.

Focus on a good aftermarket heatsink, solid copper is the best, good thermal compound, and a good fan to go on that aftermarket heatsink. Thats your best plan of action. Then start adding fans wherever you can in your case.