Sons 16th Birthday gaming PC gift - please look over and make suggestions??

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK --- I think I got it now. Everything is in my NewEgg Cart. Just got a pull the trigger- "nervous" as this is my first build and I don't want to screw up. I will wait on the new GPU and a SSD until I have the build up and running with the on board video and the regular HHD. Then add one of my 5770's , then decide which GPU I want to get for this build. Total including shipping is $645 with $40 in rebates still coming - hopefully. *Update* - the order is in- thanks again to all for the super help. I may be asking how to do this or that. Great to have this place to come to for advice- you guys are a wealth of knowledge. I think the best thing that will happen about this build is that I will spend quality time with my son learning how to build this together.

Thanks Roark - I would have been searching soon for that exact stuff. UPS tracking says all parts will be here tomorrow. Nothing back ordered. YEAH !! Still have to decide if I will give my son this set up or give him my order but still decent Phenom 965 build. Since he will be just gaming and doing homework in his room I may give him the phenom as the rest of the family uses the house computer as a true multi-media system- it is hooked up to my 50 inch plasma for a monitor = DVD player, downloading moving from Hulu, Zudu, etc...

Well got this built - had some help - but it was very smooth- could not use both of the fans for the CPU cooler - it covered up both 1st and 2nd RAM slots. And had to take off the upper side panel case fan as well due to it hitting the CPU cooler it is a beast. Now need to read up on how to overclock the i5. Get a SSD, get another monitor, and decide on the GPU - probably a 560ti or a 6950- for now I put in a 5770.