Build review before purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diktat

Beta member
Hello everyone,

I'm currently trying to decide how to build my new pc, designed exclusively for gaming, with ultra settings in mind. I live in France, so I apologize in advance for my bad English, and for any components i refer to by their European name.

I'm looking for the best quality/price ratio, I'm a student, so relatively poor =p (pasta for 3 months in order to upgrade my computer ^^)

Thanks for all the help and advice!

Here's what I have so far:

Proc: Intel Core I7 2700k

PSU: Corsair AX - 1200w

Ventirad: Noctua NH-D14 (proc cooling)

Graphics card: MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC

Memory: Corsair DDR3 Kit 2 x 4 Go Dominator GT - PC16000 - 2000 MHz - CAS 9

Hard drive for OS and games: Crucial M4 128Go SATA revision 3.0
Hard drive for storage: reusing my old velociraptor 10.000 rpm, since I have 4 1TB externals for real storage.

Case and Motherboard: Now here's where I'm still hesitating. I was dead set on the Antec twelve hundred v3, but then opted for the Asus Maximus IV extreme-z mobo, which is eATX format, and not supported by the case.

So I'm pretty much stuck here, wondering if the Maximus IV extreme-z is really necessary, or if the P8Z68 deluxe more than enough (intense OC'ing in mind). If the
Maximus IV extreme-z is really better, then I need a full-tower eATX case with very good air cooling =p

Getting a blu-ray player/burner as well, and reusing my two dvd players/burners from my old computer.

Oh, and is a sound card really necessary? I have a 5.1 surround sound system, and usually plug in my headphones when gaming, so will the mobo support that, or do I need
to buy an extra card?Is there anything missing? wrong? Am I dumping too much money in
useless upgrades? Is this the best "bang for my buck"? I'll take any comments and help you can give me :)

Thanks again!

Since its exclusively for gaming I'd get the i5 2500k.