Is this routine for you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stirb6

Beta member
Hi I'm a local field tech for a company and I had a complaint against me today from a client and it got me thinking. Is it routine? I have been a tech for a couple of years now I am a hardware tech for a major computer company and I normally just install parts and go...But this person complained because when I replaced the video card I didn't check his capasitors which had one leaking. So when you local techs are looking at a pc that seemed to have a software problem do you inspect the capasitors? His problem was he lost video when windows loaded normally, in safe mode and bios it was perfect but when it went to regular full loaded windows the screen went black or blue. Does that warrant motherboard inspection?

IMO, you want to check for what is at hand, and anything else you notice on hand. You can't assume anything.

FYI, it's spelled "capacitors"

It's just a letter, anyways they don't give us time to inspect and fix every problem the person has, I am a hardware replacement tech not a full service one. We have to be in and out in 30 minutes or less. Just asking if you find yourself doing it on every pc you would service. He made it sound like it was a normal thing to also do and I was an idiot for not doing so.

I wouldn't expect my tech guy to do a full inspection of my computer when I just need a new part. Reporting someone for this is just people trying to get some money back by playing the blame game. I wouldn't worry about it. They're in the wrong here.

It's just a letter, anyways they don't give us time to inspect and fix every problem the person has, I am a hardware replacement tech not a full service one. We have to be in and out in 30 minutes or less. Just asking if you find yourself doing it on every pc you would service. He made it sound like it was a normal thing to also do and I was an idiot for not doing so.