Sony Vaio help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Logan12

Solid State Member
So I have had several problems with my sony vaio that I bought 9 months ago. It is running windows 7 home premium.

about 4 weeks ago it became really slow and simple tasks, like right clicking or going into folders didn't work or froze my entire computer. I'm a technology and art student at WPI so I have a lot of programs on my computer (the adobe suite, Maya, Microsoft office2010, Skype, just to name the most used/ largest). I never had much open at once though. It froze constantly and was not running smoothly so I reformatted it.

After reformatting it worked great! at least for 4 weeks... Today it gave me the blue screen of death, which I thought no longer existed. I was only running Skype and chrome at the time. I manually restarted and started a virus scan using Mcafee's on demand scan. It scanned for about 3.5 hours then stared to freeze up/ not respond. I opened chrome to google something and thats when it got real slow. I closed the internet but my computer screen went black and slowly came back then there was nothing but the desktop background, I could't even ctr alt delete (it gave me an error message). So I had to restart again and opened in safe mode. But it game a a crazy I/O error while in safe mode. two actually.

I have no idea what is wrong with it. I took it to my college's help desk the first time i reformatted and they just told me to wipe it.

I don't go onto any websites with viruses/ don't click on the popups. I don't know what is wrong and am really frustrated because this was an expensive laptop that is fairly new.

Anyone have any thought? I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you!

Logan

One other thing. When I was going through my windows.old file the other day, I went into downloads and a message came up saying it detected a virus or corrupted file ( i cant remember which) and I just immediately deleted the entire downloads folder.