Graphics Card - Half life 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kappa

Beta member
Does anyone know is an ATI RADEON 9600 256MB ATLANTIS will be good enough for Half Life 2 or will I need a better card? Anyone have any suggestions please because I'm new to all this tech stuff. Thanks :eek:

System Requirements:Windows, 700 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 6.0-compatible graphics card/accelerator

That is what I found for minimum requirements. Sounds like your card would work to me.

Kappa said:
Does anyone know is an ATI RADEON 9600 256MB ATLANTIS will be good enough for Half Life 2 or will I need a better card? Anyone have any suggestions please because I'm new to all this tech stuff. Thanks :eek:

Is that an XT based card, or a regular? If your going to go with the 9600 series, I would strongly suggest getting the XT based card. They have a faster VPU clock. It doesn't cost too much more and it does give a small increase in performance.

I got my VisionTek 9600XT here:
http://www.buyxg.com

Hmm, usually as I can recall Half Life 1 had very minimal requirments. So I guess version 2 would have a bit more of demands...I guess your pc is fine

The 9600XT should have no problem with it at all. Like Doom 3, HL2 is very forgiving when it comes to system requirements. However, if you will see the best performance in HL2 with a 6800GT/Ultra followed by the X800 series.

Rizinc4 said:
System Requirements:Windows, 700 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 6.0-compatible graphics card/accelerator

That is what I found for minimum requirements. Sounds like your card would work to me.