Windows 7 vs. Vista

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexAndAHalf

Solid State Member
Hey everyone! With so many great games coming up, I've decided to upgrade my old laptop to something more suitable for gaming. There are two laptops that I have come across that have exactly what I'm looking for, but there is (literally) one difference between them: one is Windows Vista, and one is Windows 7.

The model that uses Windows 7 is $60 more than the model running Vista, and I was wondering if it was worth the sixty bucks to kick up the OS. Personally I'm thinking that I'm going to go ahead and fork over the extra cash to stick with the OS that I'm used to, but money is an issue, and if it isn't worth it, then it would be great to save the money.

My main concern is this: are there many games that will run only on Windows 7 and not support Vista?

Also, I am a college student in the Computer Science program and I am almost certain that I can be provided with a free copy of Windows 7, but this leads me to another concern; the laptop that is running Vista is a refurbished Asus model, and I'm concerned that upgrading it to Windows 7 will somehow throw off the programs that may come with it or cause some sort of other problem.

All help is much appreciated my friends!

Thanks so much!
-Alex

P.S. I'll go ahead and state ahead of time that I'm set on a laptop and not a desktop. With college and a social life and whatnot, I require something that can be taken on the go!

For just $60, I'd take the one with win7 on it, depending on the programs already installed. Tbh this sounds kinda dodgy lol, like if you format you'll lose the programs?

What programs are on each? My school sells a Windows 7 upgrade for $30, and I think Microsoft even offers it (or had offered it in the past) for $30 to college students. So it all depends, really. Take a small risk and upgrade to 7 and save some money or keep it on Vista or buy the other laptop for $60 more.