First Build Help Appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

brian1649

Baseband Member
Ok so this is my first build, not going for anything too fancy but i want a decent computer. Heres what i got so far:

Case and PSU combo:

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!

Mobo:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-870A-USB3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU:

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition Deneb 3.5GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDZ970FBGMBOX

Ram:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL

Graphics Card:

Newegg.com - XFX HD-685X-ZNDC Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

Im using the hard drive out of my old computer- 500gb western digital i believe. I was wondering if i were to switch over this HDD with windows 7 on it would it work on my new build?

And also another big question, AMD vs Intel? the cpu listed here has a smiliar priced intel processor (Newegg.com - Intel Core i3-2105 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache 3MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I32105) and i was wondering which is better?

Thanks for the help

Do not buy the Rosewill PSU. Get an Antec or Corsair TX model.

You can not switch over the OS. One, the serial is branded to your previous motherboard. If Win 7 is OEM, you can not transfer. Second of all, Windows will get all confused, as it is used to a set of hardware. That hardware is no longer there, so it has to work harder to find those new drivers, often results in a crash.

That Phenom is better than an i3. i3's are meant for low power and not for gaming.

Post your budget, main computer use (gaming/editing/web surfing/Etc..), and any extras you need like monitor/keyboard/mouse.