New Laptop Buy!

Status
Not open for further replies.
well I have been looking the past few days and I can get the X220 with the I7 and all the features for $980.
Do yall think it is worth the money?
I really need this computer to last. That is why I don't want to buy something that is cheap and that I will have to replace in 2 years.

If that is for the i7 and Premium display absolutely. The build quality on the x220 is simply superb and if you want a laptop that will last you would be hard pressed to find a better one. Plus since it is a business class system it's very easy to work on in the event you do need to upgrade or replace something.

As you can see I am a bit of fan of these laptops.

I never owned a Lenovo, but I know their business class notebooks are of the highest. Several of my friends used them. Nothing but praise.

I posted earlier that I am studying Computer Engineering. I read one review that Lenovo's have issues compiling.
Do you know if this is true?
I plan on loading Ubuntu on it with in days of getting.
Do you know if there are any issues there either?

I posted earlier that I am studying Computer Engineering. I read one review that Lenovo's have issues compiling.
Do you know if this is true?

What issues and with what language? In short I very much doubt it; more likely this is someone without much experience who can't see what they've got wrong in their program :D

I plan on loading Ubuntu on it with in days of getting.
Do you know if there are any issues there either?

Possible but unlikely, you can test with a liveCD before you do a proper install if you aren't sure.

Well guys, I appreciate the help and advice. I am going to talk it over with my dad and then make the final decision. I will let yall know tomorrow. Thanks again!

Be sure to pick the Intel wifi card since you plan on running ubuntu as they tend to have the best linux drivers.