Can't get machine to work. Monitor won't fire up. Please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobby7321

Beta member
Ok here is my situation. I've been building computers for a little less than a year. This one here is my 7th machine, so I'm still very new to this. See if you can help me get this thing running correctly.

When I first built this machine, it seemed to run ok. The monitor didn't kick on at first but after a few presses of the reset button it came on. I was able to load windows, etc...
After all that I turn the machine off. Next day I power it up to install some other software and the machine seems to turn on, but the monitor only powers up and then gives the "OFF MODE IN 5 SECONDS" screen and then turns off. Sometimes the monitor won't even power up (light stays orange).

So thinking this is just a video card issue, i send the card back to newegg and get another. Same exact problem continues. I take the whole thing apart and re-build it. Same thing.
I replace the monitor with another monitor, doesnt work. Yet the monitor I was using works fine on other machines.
Not knowing what else to do, I send the motherboard, ram, case, videocard, and hardrive, back to newegg to get all new parts.

Well i put the machine together again, and the same problem!! I even switched the processor with another machine I had built recently and the processor worked fine in that machine.

And NOW even to add to the problem, this machine powers up right when i hit the on/off switch in the back where the power cord connects. It just starts up when that is in the on position, so i really don't know whats going on. I'm sure that minor, but the monitor issue is makng me pull my hair out. I about to just send everything back and refund the customer. But I would like to avoid that.

Please any suggestions are very appreciated. Here are all the components I'm using.

CPU AMD|2700 /333 ATHLON XP RTL
HD 80GB|SAMSUNG 7200/ATA133
CASE ASPIRE|ATXB2KL-BK/350 RETAIL