First Time Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearstronaut

Beta member
I've never built any PC or computer in general before, so I really have no idea what I'm doing. I want to make sure I'm doing everything right so here's what I have in mind:

Case:
COOLER MASTER HAF X RC-942-KKN1 Black Steel/ Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case

Video card:
EVGA SuperClocked 015-P3-1582-AR GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi) 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Mother board:
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-KR LGA 1366 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Power Supply:
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200 (CMPSU-1200AX) 1200W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92 SLI Certified 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply (I know this is overkill but I might add more components later)

Processor:
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80601960

Gaming SSD:
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive

OS SSD:
Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive

Storage hard drive:
SAMSUNG EcoGreen F4 HD204UI 2TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Memory:
CORSAIR Vengeance 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9

Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

Blu-Ray Drive:
LITE-ON 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 8MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner with 3D Playback iHBS212-08 LightScribe Support

Monitor:
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" HDMI LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor

I have a high budget so the price is alright but because I have never done this and the people on this forum seem knowledgeable I thought that I could get an opinion on whether everything is balanced.

If you have the budget I'd upgrade to current generation tech.
Also 1200w is more than you'll need.

Processor: +30$ Intel i7 2600k.
Motherboard: -10$ Asus P8Z68-V Pro.