PC Upgrade - GFX Card Specifically - Replacement for HD5450

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joppsta

Baseband Member
Okay, so I'm pretty green behind the ears when it comes to PC hardware. I feel comfortable enough to open the side of this thing up and tinker around with stuff that's already inside of it... but I am not versed well in the whole "this is better than that and you should use this for this".

It would be like asking something along the lines of... a mechanical engineer to design an electronics circuit... fitting since that's what I'm studying at college :p

So basically, I have this lovely Radeon ATi HD5450 sitting in my PC that isn't pulling the FPS i require for my gaming addictions.. So i'm looking to replace it. After having opened up my PC to try and work out what the PSU's wattage is (because from my trawling around the net i believe this is important?) I came up with a 300 watt PSU. I'm not sure, the label said max load is 300W or something along these lines.

Oh and I bought this PC from Dell less than 4-5 months ago, if i recall ... I probably should have just built my own but alas, impatience got the better of me. If you need further specs of the PC I can easily throw in the specifications I got from Dell.

Cheers in advance,

~Joppsta

What is your budget? What games are you playing and are you willing to upgrade the psu as well?

You'll most likely need a new power supply to go along with a new video card. 300w just won't be enough.
What is your budget that you are willing to spend on the parts?

List the specs of your Dell too, it's not really needed... but it's good info to have to get an general idea of the overall system.

Budget is £100-£200.. I thought I would have had to upgrade PSU also

Specs of PC are as follows (this is a c/p of the crap in the email I got from them):

Item - Description
Base - Intel® Core™ i3 Processor 550 (3.20GHz, 4MB)
Memory - 4096MB Dual Channel DDR3 [4x1024] Memory