Various problems with new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

parijuf

Solid State Member
Hello people :). Not really sure where to start, so will go from the beginning.

I was using a very old computer and felt it was time for an upgrade when I started playing Aion and was getting 10 fps on lowest graphics and my computer froze every time a cutscene happened.

The new computers specs are:

MOBO: Gigabyte 880GM-UD2H Motherboard
CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II x6 1055T
RAM: 2 2x2 OCZ Platinum DDR3
GPU: MSI ATI Radeon HD 6950 Twin FrozR II 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express
CASE: Coolmaster CM-690 II Advanced Dominator
PSU: OCUK Swift 750W Silent Power Supply
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB IDE
Internet is connected using a Belkin Wireless USB which connects to a Sky router

All of the drivers have been updated but I haven't updated the BIOS as I'm not sure which version I should get (if any). The updates are found at GA-880GM-UD2H (rev. 1.3) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - BIOS If anyone could give advice on that please ^^.

I'm not exactly very competant with computers, and although I've been able to get it all to run I'm having a few problems that I honestly haven't a clue how to fix :s. I haven't overclocked and I've done everything according to the manuals. The only thing I didn't follow was when the motherboard starts I don't set it to read in SATA mode or IDE mode. I just left it as that seemed to work. I've installed and updated all softwares related to each piece of hardware

Problems...
1) When I start my computer and try to run Firefox, it usually shuts itself down without any errors a few times before it finally runs properlly. If I close it after its working properlly, I will need to open it multiple times again. This has only not happened once. Once it starts working, I can surf without it closing.