New Processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
It would take a AM3/AM2+/AM2 board to reuse the DDR2 with an AMD quad. I used two of these with my wife's and her mom's computers.

The board and cpu I proposed were AM2 and used DDR2. I do this for a living I would not offer a solution that would not work with his ram. You can buy an AM2 quad core cpu and matx AM2 motherboard from tiger direct for $99

That still doesnt solve i would still have to buy a new OS.

NO you don't! I explained that too. You should be able to boot and let it sort out the drivers for the new board. We do that quite regularly at the shop as alot of customers don't want their computer reformated. Also you can reinstall windows and then phone microsoft and tell them you need help reactivating your windows and they will happily assist you. I have done both options many times and can confirm either option will work just fine for you.

For reasons I will not get into on here, that is not an option. Rather than argue it lets just go with the mobo cant be replaced. I just simply was wondering if this board would actually hold a quad or not.

nope just 530, when you use a system info program the serial number for the the mobo says its regular 530, and even states in the info the mobo is a 4g max, but i have 8g and all are working and being used, even passes memtest86+ as 8g

You must have installed 64 bit then, however I thought for sure the original 530 was limited by more than just windows.

Edit: Yeah there had been an Bios update.

NO you don't! I explained that too. You should be able to boot and let it sort out the drivers for the new board. We do that quite regularly at the shop as alot of customers don't want their computer reformated. Also you can reinstall windows and then phone microsoft and tell them you need help reactivating your windows and they will happily assist you. I have done both options many times and can confirm either option will work just fine for you.