New Processor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bentobaku

In Runtime
Hey guys, I am a backyard PC Tech. I have an old Dell. I want to upgrade the cpu.

System Specs
Dell Inspiron 530
Processor is a LGA775 Intel Core2 6320 @1.8ghz, want to go to 3.4ghz
PSU Antec 780w
8g DDR2 SDRAM
EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti
500g SATA II WD
2TB SATA II WD
Windows 7 Ultimate

Now after researching a bit online i saw there was two mobo's for this model Dell. I have the mobo 0RY007. According to another forum this will not support a Quad core. But i wanted to double check here cause I trust you all an plus if you read this mobo is supposed to have an 4gb limit but it runs 8g great.

1st will this hold a quad?
2nd what cpu do you suggest?
3rd when I get the new cpu I am just goin to do a fresh install cause everything i have read says its much easier, plus its been over a year since reinstalled and seems this would be a good time too. Will I have to do anything special or just pop out old cpu and pop in new? (have build pc's from scratch, including cpu, but never replaced).

Thanx for any help guys.

This is the CPU I am currently eying up: Intel BX80571E6800 Pentium Dual-Core E6800 Processor - 3.33GHz, Socket 775, 2MB Cache, 1066MHz FSB, Wolfdale, Dual Core, Retail CPU w/ Fan

Any info would be good, like I said i am a backyard techy so I dont know what i am looking for in cpu's go i just can maintain and repair stuff.

And before anyone suggest buying anything else is not an option, new mobo means new ram and new windows at this point. only have about $100 to spend.

I would consider an am2 quad core Phenom II and a new am2 ddr2 matx board. All could be had for aprox $100. I'm assuming your current board is ddr2. And if you intend to reinstall windows that's fine but in most cases you can swap the board and cpu without requiring a reformat.