New Rig Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, all the parts arrived and most of the stuff seems straight-forward, but I must say given this is my first build, the motherboard connections will take some learning. Regarding the CPU cooling fan recommended below, is the Noctua compatible with the suggested LGA1155 motherboard and CPU? Per the Newegg site it only shows compatibility with Intel socket LGA1366, LGA1156, LGA775, but the Noctua site shows that it is compatible with the Asus P8P67Pro, so I'm not sure what the case is. I hope I'm not looking at something correctly, as I'd hate to have to pay for return shipping, and 15% restocking fee, not to mention having to wait for the new part before assembling the computer. I suppose I could just go with stock cooling as I'm not planning to overclock, at least initially.

Also, according to the Noctua site at http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_ram_gen&products_id=34&lng=en, the Corsair Vengeance DDR3 memory is not compatible with the NH-D14 cooler, presumably because of the height of the memory. Again, if I'm looking at this wrong, please let me know.

Thanks for the clarifications

The stock cooler should be fine if you're not overclocking...especially in the HAF case since it has such good cooling. I do recommend overclocking the 2600k...some have got it to 5ghz...I recommend these two coolers:
Newegg.com - Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Hydro H70 CWCH70 120mm High Performance CPU Cooler (water cooling)

These parts are all compatible (I just double checked). :)

I noticed a link on that page you posted, showing how to make it work with the NH-D14 cooler (unless I'm wrong, which is highly possible). Check it out here. They either suggest you move or completely remove the outer fan on the NH-D14. Hopefully that helps!