thinking of building my first computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

thunderdome

Baseband Member
Well I am thinking of selling my less then 1 month old dell I was playing with and give building a shot.

This is what I am looking getting right now. Open to suggestions obviously as this is my first build ever.

Motherboard:
ASUS P6X58D-E Motherboard - LGA 1366, Intel X58, SATA, SLI Ready, CrossFireX Ready, Triple Channel DDR3 support, RAID, Hyperthreading, USB 3.0, SATA 6Gb/s
Buy the ASUS P6X58D-E Motherboard at TigerDirect.ca

Ram
Corsair DDR3, 2000MHz 6GB (3x2GB) DIMM, Unbuffered, 9-9-9-24 1T, XMS3 with Classic Heat Spreader, Supports Core i7
Corsair DDR3, 2000MHz 6GB (3x2GB) DIMM, Unbuffered, 9-9-9-24 1T, XMS3 with Classic Heat Spreader, Supports Core i7 (CMX6GX3M3A2000C9) | Canada Computers

CPU
Intel Core i5-2500K BX80623I52500 Unlocked Processor - Quad Core, 6MB L3 Cache, 3.30 GHz, Socket H2
Buy the Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz Quad-Core Unlocked CPU at TigerDirect.ca

GPU
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 6970 2GB GDDR5 ATI Radeon HD 6970 Chipset 2GB GDDR5 Memory Dual DVI /HDMI/2xMini Display Port PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 6970 2GB GDDR5 ATI Radeon HD 6970 Chipset 2GB GDDR5 Memory Dual DVI /HDMI/2xMini Display Port PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card | Canada Computers

Case
NZXT M59 Classic Series Mid Tower Black Interior Case | Canada Computers

I have a power supply I put in my Dell already, I would take that out, a 700W OCZ Modxstream.

I have the OS, LED and all the rest.

Well i can tell you right now that the CPU and the mobo don't have the same socket so it won't work.
You need a motherboard with a LGA1155 socket to use second generation processors.
The rest seems good.

Well i can tell you right now that the CPU and the mobo don't have the same socket so it won't work.
You need a motherboard with a LGA1155 socket to use second generation processors.
The rest seems good.