2nd hand mobo not responding to treatment....

Status
Not open for further replies.

RafeZetter

Beta member
Hi - I've just joind this forum to try to get some answers to a very baffling problem, I've written the wall in order to cover all possible factors that might be relevent - I should also note I've been building PC's for many years and this is the 1st time I have had this..

On Saturday I swapped out an old (PII) mobo for a 2nd hand Mobo/ cpu/ memory bundle (ebay) for a client to update his system. Mobo: GIGABYTE S SERIES (GA-M57SLI-S4 REV 2.0 Bios FF) CPU Mem: AMD 5000 AM2 SOCKET the power supply was also changed for one with more power and SLI ability. Link of sale:Gigabyte Motherboard Bundle + Ram & CPU on eBay (end time 20-May-11 21:45:21 BST)

I should also add that the mobo had been sent out from the seller with the tower heatsink +fan still attached to the mobo with the cpu insitu. When the bundle arrived the tower heatsink (unfortunately with the cpu still attached to the underside) had separated from the mobo, and quite a few pins on the cpu had been bent, some quite badly. I did however manage to straighten them all (I've had bent pins before and no ill effects have been observed) and the cpu was rebedded into the socket, and HS tower re-attched with liquid silver thermal paste.

The mobo was then installed and a 2nd hand PCI-e 6800gt gfx card (an old one of my own and fully working, tested in my own rig before installation) added. The rest of the components stayed the same. As the client uses XP I told him he will have to do a full install of windows as XP is sensitive to changing parts and would not boot up normally as before. As he's local and has done this before I didn't feel the need to do this for him.

Here's where the fun begins....