Utterly Confused ..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astro2525

Solid State Member
Hey everyone. This is my first time visiting these forums and I am .. as the title states .. utterly confused.

Now, I have a very old system (2004-05..?) and it's graphics card just doesn't cut it for games such as World of Warcraft. So, I decided to upgrade my graphics card. Now upon determining specs and requirements for certain graphics cards, I came across AGP, PCi-E and PCI slots. So, I opened up my case to check out what I had and it looks nothing like either of the 3.

24enadi.jpg

This was taken from the front of the computer. As you can see, on the right is the power supply and the left is what I think to be a graphics card..?

Here's a closer up shot:

prw5u.jpg

Now; the 3 white slots are what I think to be PCI slots. The black slot on the right has got me clueless.

So; I guess what I'm asking is: What kind of graphics cards can I use? I have a 550W PSU so that's really not a problem. It's just my computer looks nothing like anyone elses. Is this some sort of unchangeable interface that I am doomed to put up with for eternity?

BTW:

I'm running a Compaq Presario 2004. Too lazy to find the exact model type, if you need it to determine what everything is, lemme know. Got around 2.5GB of RAM.

Thanks in advance people. ^^

That is a PCI-E x16 slot, mate.

You said a 550W. Care to list the make and model? Not all PSUs are created equal.

Yup, PCI-e x16 slot. Almost all video cards manufactured today are PCI-e x16, so you shouldn't have any problem with compatibility. The only place you'd probably have problems with is, as Trotter pointed out, your PSU.

We all just got ninja'd :tongue:

My PSU is a GEN-2004 550 Watt ATX.
Further specs on that:
Fan:--- 120 mm
Input Voltage:--- 115 ~ 230
+3.3V:--- 18 A
+5V:--- 28 A
+12V 1:--- 32 A
-12V:--- 0.8 A
-5V:--- 0.6 A
+5VSB:--- 2 A
20+4-Pin Connector:--- 1
4-Pin P4:--- 1
6-Pin PCI-Express Connector:--- 1