Need build ideas/input

Status
Not open for further replies.

smallblock

In Runtime
In the last two days I just filled my 120 GB Hard drive on my old Dell 8200 trying to convert my DV video of my daughters birth to DVD. The old machine runs SLOW while I was editing my video and after all the other frustrations I'd like to move on to a bigger/better computer and would like to put it together myself.

I've never built one before, but have changed many of the compenents on the one's I;ve had over the years and think I am up to the challenge with a little guidance. I've researched on the web trying to learn what I want, but there is just way too much damn info. Can you guys help?

I do a little bit of every thing with my computer.... I play games, maintain 2 website, and as of recently edit video. I'd like to build a machine that can handle all of these and not get bogged down.

I am open to suggestions for everything .... cases, hard drives ... the works. I want to build a machine that can be easily upgraded as technology improves (unlike the ability of my Dell).

Right now I can't edit video and run anything else on my computer .... it's frustration. Am interested in possibly running 2 CPU's or setting up initially to be able to add a second one later on.

Thanks for your input!

Well for right now you can am Athlon FX-55(socket 939) and at least 2 gig of ram w/ a 6800GT and it will do everyhting you want. Quite expensive i might add because it is the latest processor out. That is what i recommend for an "anything" computer. For cost effective and performance i say get 1 gig of Corsair TwinX XMS Pc3200 Dual channel DDR an Athlon 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939 and either a MSI mobo or Abit mobo. For video id say a good all round choice is 6800GT. W/ that mobo and processor youll be able to upgrade later on and you have the technology and power to do what you want!