Six Core?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy05

Beta member
Hey guys I'm still putting together a CPU and trying to do as much research on my PC before buying.

Anyways I notice that i never see anyone talking about the I7-990X Core? All I keep reading is the Quad core threads.

Intel Core i7-990X BX80613I7990X Extreme Edition Processor - Six-Core, 12MB L3 Cache, 3.46GHz, Socket B (LGA 1366), Retail at TigerDirect.com

Thats the one I'm thinking of buying. I want to get into overclocking, and I cant seem to find anyone that has done it with this one, or I'm just missing it. I noticed they are selling even more expensive CPUs, but to me that look slower? Heres a example. hmm I noticed it says server/workstation on the box. im guessing thats why. Keep in mind I'm new to this!

Intel BX80614X5670 Xeon X5670 Processor - 2.93GHz, LGA 1366, 6.4GT/s QPI, 12MB L3 Cache, Six Core, HyperThreading, Westmere-EP, Retail CPU w/ Fan at TigerDirect.com

Is this like the LED Tvs that when you ask about a LED tv some jerk is always like Well there not really LEDs and blah blah blah, but he knows exactly what your talking about! haha just a pet peeve

No one talks about it as its overkill. 90% of applications don;'t use more than 2 cores anyway, so 6 is just wasted money.

Thoses are 1366 sockets whyich are being replaced at the end/start of the year. The 990x is new this year btw

Soul went from a $1300 980x to a 2600k at a 3rd the price and a small bit of performance gain in 50% of things he does. So its not smart to shell out 1000 bucks more.

Xeons are "server" chips in that you can run multiple cpus on 1 board, and are usually better chips... and cost more.

The hex cores are just not worth the performance gain the average person does.

1366 are going to be replaced? So maybe I should wait till next year? I dont want to build a PC and then find out in 3 years I cant replace my CPU because the new ones dont fit into my MB