First build and computer won't start! Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bwidger

Solid State Member
I decided to build my first desktop computer; however, after putting in new hardware (mobo, psu, processor, heat sink, video card, RAM) I go to turn the power on and both the PSU and the heatsink fan spins half way then stops and computer doesn't start. I tried my old PSU from another desktop computer that I know works and the same problem: PSU and heatsink fan spins halfway then stops and computer doesn't start, so I'm fairly sure it isn't the new PSU.

Because I am new at building computers I hope I simply just didn't setup the harware correctly. Anyway, below I will list the products I bought for my new build and I will also show pictures of my new setup so you guys can possibly detect the problem.

Here are the components I bought and set up:

CPU:
i7-2600k (heatsink included)

Mobo:
ASUS P8P67-M Pro

PSU:
Corsair TX 750w

Video card:
Visiontek Radeon HD4350

RAM:
Crucial 8GB 1333MHz (2X4GB)

I followed all the directions for all the hardware listed when setting up. I first installed the mobo carefully and without any problems. Next I installed the cpu, added some thermal paste, and then installed the heatsink on top. I made sure everything was latched correctly with the heatsink and secured. After that, I then took out my old PSU (300w) and added the new Corsair PSU (750w) and bracketed it in the tower's casing slot. I then added the RAM to the appropriate slots and installed the video card to a PCIe slot.