Thoughts on this $1450 gaming rig?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hoxton

Beta member
How well will this rig preform on 2009 and later games (MMOs, FPS)? Monitor resolution 1366x768, running Windows 7 Home Premium 64x
Chassis: Antec Dark Fleet DF-30 Midi Tower
Harddrive: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
RAM: Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz 8GB
Power Supply: Corsair TX V2 850W PSU
Video card: Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Processor: Intel i5-2500K
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 EVO B3
Burner: Samsung SH-B123L Blu-Ray

Should be able to run MMOs and everything else very well. Guessing that you should upgrade the CPU to an i7 if possible.

Why should I go i7? I'm not going to crossfire. I won't really use the extra cream that the i7 gives me, I think.
What's your justification for i7?

Just for the extra juice if you wanted it, I'm guessing. I'm not an expert but it seems as though most are recommending the i7, unless it is out of your budget range.

Well most games that are out right now won't even utilize all four cores of the i5, so the i7 is not really necessary. I have a friend who has a i7 in his laptop and I never see the extra four cores go above 0% usage and he's played multiple games and used programs like photoshop.

the i7 is just an i5 at a higher clock and with hyper threading. it really isn't faster when clocked the same unless you're running programs that can utilize the 8 cores. build looks good to me.

The i7 is not really a worthwhile upgrade for gaming. I have the 2600k, but I use my rig for more than just gaming. It does do a very well job though, even when not overclocked, I can run Soundbooth CS5, Photoshop CS5, Traktor Pro, and Premiere Pro, all well playing New Vegas, with overall CPU usage only at 13%. Not that I ever really do this, that's too much multitasking for me :p

How well will this rig preform on 2009 and later games (MMOs, FPS)? Monitor resolution 1366x768, running Windows 7 Home Premium 64x
Chassis: Antec Dark Fleet DF-30 Midi Tower