My First Custom PC Rig (Gaming and Productivity, Mid-Budget) - Please Advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Piper827

Beta member
Hey, this is my first time building a custom PC, so I'd like some help. I have an intermediate understanding of computer science, just haven't gotten down to building my own machine from the ground. I'm really excited about this, and look forward to getting some good advice. I'll first give a brief description of what I plan on using the computer for, and then the parts that I have been looking at lately.

I am a college student and, as of right now, am using a Samsung QX 410 laptop as my computing system. I feel as though its functionality is being stretched a little thin. As a student, I find myself leading a pretty mobile life as I am going to and from school and study sessions and the occasional LAN party. However, I also find myself sitting in my apartment doing homework, research, writing, designing, and playing video games. I believe that adding a desktop to my arsenal would make a ground shaking addition and really better shape the application of technology into my daily activities.

I want a computer that is fast and productive with reliable hardware and a long life expectancy. I want overclock capabilities without the cost of reducing hardware integrity. It should be able to play any game that is currently on the market today at full graphic qualities. I do some video and photo editing, but not a lot (this isn't too important). And I especially want it to last me a few years (at least 6-7). Granted, I understand that sometimes computer parts wear down or become obsolete, however, I don't want my rig to be completely useless 6 years from now. I plan on upgrading my rig with better parts as needed, and want it to have compatibility with the future.

That said, let's get on with it.

Budget: $1,000 - $1,800

Antec SONATA IV Black 0.8 mm SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 620W Power Supply