Constructing a BEAST !

Status
Not open for further replies.

GShiva

Solid State Member
Well i over-exaggerated when i said "beast" :silly: buuuuuuut...I'm new to building computers and wanted to make a decent computer to game on (Nothing too extreme, and on a decent budget).

I just wanted to know if :

a) everything would run together fine
b) would i need any extra coolers
c) If more than 4GB of RAM was necessary

Thanks for your help in advance, here's my lineup ! :cute:

[CASE] : Suza Advance NeoXblade 8813B - Mid tower - Black
[CPU] : Intel Core i7 950 / 3.06 GHz Processor
[MOTHERBOARD] : ASUS P6X58D-E - Intel X58 - Socket 1366
[GRAPHICS] : MSI N460GTX Cyclone 1GD5/OC - GF GTX 460
[RAM] : Corsair CMX4GX3M2A1600C​9 2 x 2GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory
[HDD] : Western Digital Caviar Blue 250 Gb 7200 Rpm Sata-ii
[DVD] : LG GH22NS50.AUAA 22x SATA DVDRW Drive
[PSU] : Corsair CMPSU-500CX 500W Power Supply

Thanks in advance !!!!

Welcome to the forum. Its a great bunch on here. I'm going to have a punt at helping you out. I'm new to this too, but i've been doing a fair bit of research.

Lets start with the processor. Why'd you go the i7? The i5 sandy bridge 2500k supports unlocked overclocking and has benchmarked at pretty much the same level as many of the i7 processors (without overclocking). In terms of bang for your buck, this one is big favourite on here. It'll cost less than the one you've got (i would think).

Now, video card. Its ranked 19th... If you went for a 480 instead of a 460, you'd end up with a top 5 video card. If you crossfire in the future, hot ****, that thing would be pretty close to a beast.

Hard Drive... Looks a bit small. For $100 (AUD) you can get a terabyte HDD at the same speed you have posted. If you are gaming on it, you might fill that one up by the time you throw a couple of games on it (which can range up to and over 10gb), a couple of movies. Be worth your while looking at something a little larger.