New computer, slow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jls1988

Beta member
Hi, I have a lot of computer experience. I've been on computer since the age of 8 (and now i'm 22) so I've been around. But lately I've been around a problem i've never experienced before. I just bought a computer (second handed, but the computer is one month old) and when I brought it home it was lagging and slow (windows vista 32bit was installed on it). So the thing that made more sense in my head was to format it, am I right? So that's what I did. I installed Windows 7 64 bits on it and guess what? It was still as laggy and slow. So now in my head, there's a problem that I don't understand, maybe linked to a hardware problem is what I'm thinking. I don't know a LOT about hardware in details so I thought maybe you guys could lead me on a path. I know for a fact that the problem is not the specs of my computer for sure.

Here they are :

- NZXT Tempest Evo II full size tower
- Gigabyte GA-P55-UD6 motherboard w/ box, disc, and all original cables
- Intel Core i5 750 Quad CPU @ 2.8ghz (never overclocked)
- ATI Radeon 5450HD 1GB DDR3 PCI-E 16x Video card with HDMI, DVI, SVGA
- LG Blu-Ray DVD-R/RW
- Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2000GB) SATA 3G Hard Drive w/64MB cache
- 4GB (2x2GB) Mushkin DDR3 1333 PC-16000 RAM (memory)
- Vantec 57-in-1 memory card reader w/ 2x USB, 2x 1394 and 2x E-SATA
- Orion 850W PSU (power supply)
- Corsair Hydro H50 CPU Internal Liquid Cooler

Lead me somewhere please, I need help.
PS: Give me your opinion on this... I paid 700$ for this, did I get ripped off?

Thank you!
-Jon

Get Memtest86+ Boot with it and let it go two passes at least. Any errors, and one of your memory sticks are bad. Might also want to run one stick at a time too, to make sure.