Building Another High-End Gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

zandre88

In Runtime
Hey everyone,

So I am a bit impatient and well I have gotten pretty excited over the Sandy Bridges even with the early problems they had. So I've basically decided to build another computer. Luckily I have been able to get a little extra money so I can probably spend about $2,000 possibly and possibly a little more. I kind of plan on buying the parts over the course of the next month. I don't think I'll be ordering everything at once. Anyways, I'm still pretty new to this so I'm looking for some suggestions. Right now I know I want the Intel i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k. The only thing I could get above that I believe is an 980x or 990x and I don't think I honestly need that much power. It'd be fun but yeah I don't LOL. I also have a Corsair 850watt PSU so I'm set there. However I will need everything else.

So I was wondering if anyone could give me some ideas. I think I'd like to get the new ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME Mobo but it seems to be sold out everywhere I look. Is there any news on when that might get back on the market or is there somewhere I could buy it?

I'll also be wanting an SSD. I don't think I want to go with a RevoDrive as I did before because I just found it to be a hassle to get Windows installed properly. I think I'd prefer a SATA version. Suggestions there would be nice. I guess around 200ish GB is what I'm looking for.

Basically I just want another powerful gaming PC. Part of the reason is my girlfriend is actually kind of getting into gaming so I figure she can use my current PC once I build this new one.

Thanks in advance for any help. Sample builds would be appreciated.

Zalman just released a series of Solid State Drives on newegg. N series and S series. N series is overall better and is the the price of the S series for the same capacity. although they dont have 200gb+, buying two 128gb appears cheaper than buying 200GB+ SSDs.