New processor for my comp.

Status
Not open for further replies.

colonelva

Solid State Member
Hi, first time posting here. I'm currently on a budget and can't buy a new computer (wife won't let me) :), however I'm entertaining the option of upgrading my processor. Below is what I found for my mobo. I'm mainly using this comp for playing games, WOW - Battlefield Bad company. I'd also like to have something that will prepare me for Battlefield 3. Any help would be appreciated as I'm not tech savvy.

Motherboard Name Asus P5BW-LA (Buckeye)
Bus Type Intel AGTL+
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 267 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 1066 MHz
Bandwidth 8530 MB/s

If I need to post anything else please let me know..

Depending on what video card you have, a new video card might be a better option for your gaming needs.

I apologize for the delay in response, work has been a pain :).. but here goes..and yes it is an HP Pavilion a1640n.

Summary
Operating System
MS Windows XP Media Center Edition Professional 32-bit SP3
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 1.86GHz 51 °C
Conroe 65nm Technology
RAM
6.0GB DDR2
Motherboard
ASUSTek Computer INC. Buckeye (Socket 775) 38 °C
Graphics
HP L2045w (1680x1050@60Hz)
1024MB GeForce GTS 250 (BFG Tech) 56 °C
Hard Drives
244GB Seagate ST3250820AS (SATA) 49 °C
313GB FUJITSU MAXTOR STM3320620AS (SATA) 53 °C
Optical Drives
TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H653L
Audio
Creative X-Fi Audio Processor (WDM)

Motherboard
Manufacturer ASUSTek Computer INC.
Model Buckeye
Version 0nx1114RE101BUCKE00
Chipset Vendor Intel
Chipset Model P965/G965
Chipset Revision C2
Southbridge Vendor Intel
Southbridge Model 82801HH (ICH8DH)
Southbridge Revision B0
System Temperature 38 °C
BIOS
Brand Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version 3.17
Date 08/21/2007
Voltage
CPU CORE 1.680 V
MEMORY CONTROLLER 1.688 V
VIN2 1.664 V
PCI Data
1. PCI Available
2. PCI Available
3. PCI Available
4. PCI Available
Graphics
Monitor
Name HP L2045w on NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250